Colorado State University

College of Natural Sciences 2017 Professor Laureate Awards and Lecture: April 28

Professor Laureate Lecture

This year, the College of Natural Sciences at Colorado State University is honoring two of its outstanding faculty as 2017 Professor Laureates, the highest academic honor bestowed by the college.

Associate Professor and Associate Chair Dan Cooley, of the Department of Statistics, and Associate Professor and Associate Chair Melissa Reynolds, of the Department of Chemistry will receive their awards at the spring ceremony and lecture, April 28.

Cooley’s research focuses on extreme values, spatial statistics, and environmental and meteorological applications of statistics. He received his Ph.D. in applied mathematics from the University of Colorado, Boulder. He frequently collaborates with the National Center for Atmospheric Research’s Geophysical Statistics Project.

Reynolds’ work centers on biomaterials and biomedical engineering, seeking new ways to make biocompatible medical devices and small-molecule therapeutics. She earned her Ph.D. from the University of Michigan. She and her lab frequently partner with other institutions and clinicians to translate the laboratory research into practical use. Reynolds was also recently named a Colorado State University 2017 Monfort Professor.

At the event, Associate Professor Reynolds will deliver her Professor Laureate talk: “Systemic or Localized: paths to better science and improved clinical outcomes.” Associate Professor Cooley will deliver his talk in the fall.

The Professor Laureate designation was established by the college in 2006 to acknowledge faculty with outstanding contributions to the mission of the college, including teaching, scholarship, and service. Recipients hold the title for three years and receive an honorarium of $2,000 and up to $2,000 in additional funds to support student research.

College of Natural Sciences 2017 Professor Laureate Awards and Lecture

4-6 p.m., Friday, April 28

Cherokee Park Room, Lory Student Center

Awards and lecture, followed by hors d’oeuvres